Oh, deer

It’s a been a long week but a positive one too. I officially am leaving my old job at the chippy on Saturday! Whey hey! Although my boss keeps asking me “do you HAVE to leave?” or “aww, Tamsin! Why are you leaving me with all these boys?”. I’m not sure what to say to that! 😦 Part of me feels guilty and sad I’m leaving a really wholesome and nice family-orientated work environment, but I want to be a chef and competitive one too! Cooking is a bit like sport to me and it’s the only thing I even feel competitive about.

This week we are working in the evening kitchen. I’m cooking a main dish, but I’ll elaborate on it more tomorrow.

In the mean time check out this gruesome thing πŸ˜‰ this is only a venison carcass!

I roasted it at about 200 degrees Celsius… I think. I won’t lie the combi oven was on already I just whacked it in to catch some colour. When my tutor told me to make the stock I was bemused, I said “Gawdddd, do I have to?!” “Fine, I’ll do it then” he said. I felt like he was testing me though so I roughly chopped some veg, tossed it in sunflower oil, seasoned and roasted it until browned. Chucked both the roasted venison carcass and vegetables in a pot and got prepping my dish.

My phone was dying so I actually didn’t get pictures of all my prep or the final product. There’s always tomorrow.

Here’s two sneak shots from before my phone died. This of one of the components on my dish, I won’t tell you what it is yet either… you can wait πŸ™‚

This week the Level 3s have been getting to know the Level 2s. They’re so cute! πŸ˜‰ It kind of took me back to last year when I literally felt like I had no idea what I was doing. Although today I managed to get a venison stock on the go which I’ve never done before.

I’ll leave you with my chosen dish of the day which for me was the amuse bouche made by Sam one of the level 2s: Uncle Arwyn’s Beetroot Soup. I’ll admit I didn’t get to try it but it looks beautiful plated up.

Hope you are all enjoying life, keep watching for more πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

